PowerSwitch Main Page
PowerSwitch
The UK's Peak Oil Discussion Forum & Community
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Home security, lighting, cameras etc.
Goto page Previous  1, 2
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    PowerSwitch Forum Index -> Preparations
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Little John



Joined: 08 Mar 2008
Posts: 5904
Location: UK

PostPosted: Wed May 18, 2016 5:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Mods, you might want to split this off into a home security thread......
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Yahoo Messenger
mr brightside



Joined: 01 Apr 2011
Posts: 225
Location: On the fells

PostPosted: Wed May 18, 2016 6:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Cheers LJ, news to me! The camera only covers privately owned land, that being my drive and the private track leading past it. It does however cover the public right of way crossing the track.
_________________
Persistence of habitat, is the fundamental basis of persistence of a species.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
adam2
Site Admin


Joined: 02 Jul 2007
Posts: 6559
Location: North Somerset

PostPosted: Wed May 18, 2016 7:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Little John wrote:
Mods, you might want to split this off into a home security thread......


Done.
The original thread may be found here
http://www.powerswitch.org.uk/forum/viewtopic.php?t=22392&start=585
_________________
"Installers and owners of emergency diesels must assume that they will have to run for a week or more"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kenneal - lagger
Site Admin


Joined: 20 Sep 2006
Posts: 10307
Location: Newbury, Berkshire

PostPosted: Thu May 19, 2016 2:19 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

We have a "previously owned" security camera system but it's in storage in our cellar! Not very useful there! I must get around to installing it at sometime in the near future.

It uses a tape system so is probably quite power hungry compared to a computerised one. Would it be wise, Adam2, to replace the recording part of the system with a dedicated computer which I could probably get from Morgan Computers for about 100? I've already got a spare monitor.
_________________
"When the last tree is cut down, and the last river has been poisoned, and the last fish has been caught, Only then will you find out that you cannot eat money". --The Cree Indians
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
adam2
Site Admin


Joined: 02 Jul 2007
Posts: 6559
Location: North Somerset

PostPosted: Thu May 19, 2016 4:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I would recommend storing the security video "film" on a PC since this tends to give a better quality picture than a video tape recorder.

The PC is almost endlessly reusable but the tapes need regular replacement and might be in future short supply as it is a dying technology.

Programmes are available that monitor the picture for movement, and record say one frame a minute in the absence of movement, and switch to say 10 frames a second when anything moves.

I would unfortunately expect the PC to use a similar amount of power to the video tape recorder.
_________________
"Installers and owners of emergency diesels must assume that they will have to run for a week or more"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kenneal - lagger
Site Admin


Joined: 20 Sep 2006
Posts: 10307
Location: Newbury, Berkshire

PostPosted: Thu May 19, 2016 5:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It might be better to buy a laptop then?
_________________
"When the last tree is cut down, and the last river has been poisoned, and the last fish has been caught, Only then will you find out that you cannot eat money". --The Cree Indians
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
adam2
Site Admin


Joined: 02 Jul 2007
Posts: 6559
Location: North Somerset

PostPosted: Thu May 19, 2016 5:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Possibly, but would a laptop have enough memory ? My inclination might to accept the extra power used and to purchase a little more PV capacity to offset this.
_________________
"Installers and owners of emergency diesels must assume that they will have to run for a week or more"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Mr. Fox



Joined: 24 Nov 2005
Posts: 639
Location: In the Dark - looking for my socks

PostPosted: Mon May 30, 2016 10:06 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Don't use a laptop - you'll be limited to USB capture devices, which on the whole I've found can be problematic.

For a 2-3 camera setup, any old Pentium III / Athlon XP PC will do, running Zoneminder under Ubuntu Linux.

https://wiki.zoneminder.com/Beginner_hardware

As LJ points out, you should familiarise yourself with the law:

https://ico.org.uk/for-the-public/cctv/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kenneal - lagger
Site Admin


Joined: 20 Sep 2006
Posts: 10307
Location: Newbury, Berkshire

PostPosted: Mon May 30, 2016 12:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks, Mr Fox.
_________________
"When the last tree is cut down, and the last river has been poisoned, and the last fish has been caught, Only then will you find out that you cannot eat money". --The Cree Indians
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
clv101
Site Admin


Joined: 24 Nov 2005
Posts: 7758

PostPosted: Mon May 30, 2016 8:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Mr. Fox wrote:
Don't use a laptop - you'll be limited to USB capture devices, which on the whole I've found can be problematic.

For a 2-3 camera setup, any old Pentium III / Athlon XP PC will do, running Zoneminder under Ubuntu Linux.

https://wiki.zoneminder.com/Beginner_hardware

As LJ points out, you should familiarise yourself with the law:

https://ico.org.uk/for-the-public/cctv/


Eak, just think of the power consumption!! Can't leave those old dinosaurs running. Surely there are better solutions based around the Arduino or Raspberry Pi 'system on a chip' solutions? Then you're down to approx 1W vs hundreds.
_________________
PowerSwitch on Facebook | The Oil Drum | Twitter | Blog
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Mr. Fox



Joined: 24 Nov 2005
Posts: 639
Location: In the Dark - looking for my socks

PostPosted: Mon May 30, 2016 10:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Good point, Chris... it can be done with a raspi if you get the right USB cameras and 2 or 3 will do the job.

It's a problem I've only ever approached from the starting point of having a pile of old junk. Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    PowerSwitch Forum Index -> Preparations All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Goto page Previous  1, 2
Page 2 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group