PowerSwitch Main Page
PowerSwitch
The UK's Peak Oil Discussion Forum & Community

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

help! i need a solar meter!

View previous topic :: View next topic  
Kadir

PostPosted: Mon Oct 22, 2007 9:01 pm    Post subject: help! i need a solar meter! Reply with quote

does anybody know where i can get a meter to measure the uv light, but gives the result in watts/m2.

please excuess me if nothing like this exist, as you can tell, i am very new to this solar game. Embarassed
RenewableCandy

PostPosted: Tue Oct 23, 2007 10:07 am    Post subject: Re: help! i need a solar meter! Reply with quote

Kadir wrote:
does anybody know where i can get a meter to measure the uv light, but gives the result in watts/m2.

Interesting that it's the UV you want to measure: most Solar PV reacts to yellow, red and near-Infra-Red (except that marvellous new multi-layer stuff that does blue and green also, so runs better than ordinary PV on cloudy days). You might just need a Pyranometer, can't remember the brand we used at the CAT but the good ones might be quite pricey. Good luck anyway.
Kadir

PostPosted: Tue Oct 23, 2007 7:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

you can see how much i know then!!! Embarassed Embarassed

i think it would be wise to explain my idea. i have a villa in north cyprus, i intend to use solar power, to run as much of the house as i can,so i was after a meter to measure the watts per2 metre?
kenneal - lagger
Site Admin

PostPosted: Tue Oct 23, 2007 11:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You don't need to measure the insolation really. You only need a ball park figure because it's going to vary according to the weather. To make an exact measurement you would have to measure for the full year. You can get sufficient information from maps such as